(approved changes 29 Sept. 2007, technical update 18 Oct. 2015)

1. The Association
The name of this Association is the European Association for the Study of Australia (EASA). EASA is referred to in this Constitution as “the Association.” The Association is a non-profit, professional organisation.

2. Aims of the Association
To promote teaching and research in the field of Australian Studies throughout Europe and to spread knowledge about Australia among general readers in Europe by every available means.

3. Membership
Membership is open to any academic, professional, university student or interested person engaged in the research, teaching or study of Australia. In order to attend the Association’s Biennial Conference one must be a fully paid up member of the Association. There are three categories of membership: Ordinary, Student, Honorary.

4. Board and Officers
The Board shall consist of eight elected members, including one Australian, one post-graduate student and ex-officio  the outgoing Chairperson.

5. Chairperson
The chairperson of the Association shall be responsible for the following:
a) the overall management of the Association;
b) convening and chairing the Biennial General Meeting and meetings of the Executive Committee;
c) acting as the official spokesperson for the Association;

6. Secretary
The Secretary of the Association shall be responsible for maintaining the records of the Association and handling its regular correspondence.

7. Treasurer
The Treasurer of the Association shall be responsible for the following:
a) collecting the membership fees of the Association;
b) maintaining the membership lists of the Association
c) preparing annual financial statements and presenting them to the Biennial General Meeting of the Association. They shall be audited by two members chosen at the General Meeting and shall be approved by the members present;
d) providing each member with the financial statement of the Association for the two financial years of the outgoing committee’s term of office.

8. Executive Committee
The Executive Committee of the Association will consist of the Chairperson, the Secretary, the Treasurer, and the Past Chairperson. The Executive Committee shall observe the following terms of reference:
a) The chief officers of the Association shall be resident in any of the countries of Europe.
b) The position of Past Chairperson is an ex-officio appointment and a non-voting one.
c) Each elected member of the Committee has one vote.
d) The Executive Committee shall be convened at least once each year by the Chairperson, who will give notice of the meeting to its members by mail or telephone.
e) An Executive Committee meeting shall always be convened during the regular Biennial Meeting of the Association as a whole.
f) All policy actions taken by the Executive Committee shall be ratified by the Biennial General Meeting.
g) A quorum consists of three members.

9. The Executive Committee has the following responsibilities:
a) To authorise any expenditures necessary to the running of the Association.
b) To establish ad hoc committees to facilitate and further the activities of the Association.
c) To set membership fees.
d) To delegate the organisation of the Biennial conference to a locally based member of the Association and to liaise with such persons.
e) To produce and circulate the Association’s Newsletter twice a year.
f) To decide on all questions touching on the interpretation of this Constitution.

10. Terms of Office
a) The Members of the Board shall be appointed for a term of two years. This is renewable only twice
b) Elections for all Officers shall take place at the Biennial General Meeting.
c) The official headquarters of the Association shall be the institutional address of the current Treasurer.

11. Standing Committees
There shall be two standing committees of the Association: the Nominating Committee and the Programme Committee.

12. Nominating Committee
The Nominating Committee shall consist of the immediate Past Chairperson and one additional member approved of at the Biennial meeting of the Association.
Nominations for all positions on the Executive Committee shall be conducted in the following manner:
Nominations, including the written consent of the nominee, shall be submitted one month before the Biennial General Meeting of the Association.

13. Programme Committee
The Programme Committee shall consist of two officers of the Association together with the local conference organiser and his/her deputy.
The Programme Committee shall act in an advisory capacity to the conference.

14. Revocation of Membership
Membership of any standing committee may be revoked by a vote of three-quarters of the members present at an Extraordinary General Meeting.

15. Notice of Elections
Notice of Elections shall be sent out to all current members two months before the Biennial General Meeting of the Association at which the elections are to take place.

16. General Meeting
The Biennial General Meeting of the Association shall take place at the time and location of the Biennial Conference of the Association. Any other Extraordinary General Meeting shall take place at a time and location decided by the Executive Committee.
a) The membership convened at the Biennial General Meeting constitutes the Association’s highest authority.
b) The order of business at the Biennial General Meeting of the Association shall proceed, where appropriate, in the following manner:
1. Report of the Chairperson. 2. Report of the Secretary. 3. Report of the Treasurer. 4. Reports of the Standing Committees. 5. Elections of Officers. 6. Fixing of
the date and place of the next Biennial General Meeting. 7. Appointment of Committees. 8. Unfinished Business. 9. New Business. 10. Adjournment.
c) Voting at all Elections of the Association shall be by secret ballot.

17. Financial Year
The financial year of the Association shall run from January 1 to December 31.

18. Signatures
Except where otherwise provided for, contracts, documents, cheques or other notes made out in the name of the Association shall bear the signatures of the Chairperson and the Treasurer or Secretary.

19. Dissolution
a) The Association may be dissolved only after a written referendum.
b) In the event of the dissolution of the Association, its remaining assets shall be given over to a kindred organization.